DT News - US - OSAP names Jeff Sherman chairman, elects new board members

Search Dental Tribune

OSAP names Jeff Sherman chairman, elects new board members

Jeff Sherman, who has 30 years of experience in the dental industry, is the new chairman of OSAP. (DTI/Photo OSAP)
Dental Tribune International

Dental Tribune International

Wed. 14 September 2011


ANNAPOLIS, MD, USA: The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) recently announced the selection of Jeff Sherman as chairman and three new members to its Board of Directors. OSAP’s board is reflective of its unique constituency and is comprised of infection prevention leaders representing academia, the profession and the trade.

Sherman, director of corporate brand sales & marketing, North America, for Henry Schein Inc., has 30 years of experience in the dental industry, working both in distribution and manufacturing. He has been involved in infection control products and promotion of safety in the dental environment since 1988. In his 13 years with OSAP, Sherman has attended several general sessions and served on the Marketing Committee.

OSAP’s new board members are:

  • Martin Hobdell BDS PhD MA, visiting professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Public Health at University College in London, England. Hobdell is a world-renowned expert in oral epidemiology, determinants of oral health, inequity and health service delivery. He is also the Lead in development of WHO Global Goals for Oral Healthcare (2020).
  • Tim Lorencovitz, senior product manager with Sultan Healthcare. Lorencovitz leads the strategic direction of the Infection Prevention and Oral Preventive product categories for Sultan Healthcare, a division of Dentsply International. His 17 years of experience covers classic consumer and business-to-business marketing.
  • Mike Smurr, director of marketing and merchandise for Patterson Dental, where he is responsible for the marketing interactions between Patterson Dental and the more than 800 manufacturers with whom Patterson works. His responsibilities include marketing communications, product submissions, promotional and introductory product campaigns, and private label business.

The new Board members bring to 11 the number of leaders who will help guide the organization through June 2012. Other directors include: Vice Chair Carmen (Yolanda) Bonta DMD MS (Hispanic Dental Association); Treasurer Doug Braendle (SciCan); Secretary Jennifer Naylor (Hu-Friedy); Immediate Past Chair Doni Bird CDA RDH MA (Santa Rosa Junior College); and Anthony Angelini (Aegis Communications); Leslie Grant DDS MSPA (Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners); and Peggy Cottrell (ProEdge Dental Products).

About OSAP

The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention is the world’s leading membership association exclusively dedicated to preventing disease transmission and ensuring the safe delivery of oral healthcare for all. As a non-profit organization, OSAP helps dental practitioners close the gap between policy and practice. Its members include dental and other healthcare professionals, consultants, researchers and non-governmental organizations, manufacturing and distribution companies, policy makers and academia.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *