DT News - US - Henry Schein’s chairman and CEO receives 2015 Callahan Memorial Award

Search Dental Tribune

Henry Schein’s chairman and CEO receives 2015 Callahan Memorial Award

Members of the Callahan Memorial Award Commission congratulate Stanley Bergman, the 2015 Callahan Memorial Award honoree. Pictured from left: Dr. Joe Crowley, 2015 commission vice chairman and American Dental Association (ADA) 7th District Trustee; Dr. Kevin Laing, Callahan commissioner and president-elect of the Ohio Dental Association; Dr. Jack Gottschalk, commissioner emeritus; Stanley Bergman; Dr. Joe Mellion, commission chairman; Dr. Lawrence Goldblatt, commissioner; Dr. David Rummel, commissioner; Dr. Marsha Pyle, commissioner and dean of the University of Missouri - Kansas City (UMKC) School of Dentistry; Dr. Ron Lemmo, 2015 commission secretary/treasurer and ADA treasurer. (Photo: PRNewsFoto/Henry Schein Inc.)
Dental Tribune USA

Dental Tribune USA

Fri. 25 September 2015


MELVILLE, N.Y., USA: Stanley M. Bergman, chairman of the board and CEO of Henry Schein Inc., was selected as the recipient of the 2015 Callahan Memorial Award. Bergman was recognized on Sept. 18 during the Callahan Celebration of Excellence as part of the 149th Ohio Dental Association (ODA) Annual Session, held at the Hyatt Regency Columbus.

Bergman was cited for leading Henry Schein’s longstanding commitment to advancing access to oral health care.

“It is a great honor to receive the Callahan Memorial Award, which for nearly a century has been given to a veritable who’s who of dentistry — truly illustrious global dental leaders,” Bergman said. “Receiving the Callahan Memorial Award is a reflection of the shared commitment of more than 18,000 Team Schein Members, who work tirelessly to help our customers advance access to health care around the world. Henry Schein is proud to partner with the ODA and other organizations that share our vision of improving global oral care.”

Named after the late Dr. John Ross Callahan, a pioneer in the field of dentistry, the Callahan Memorial Award is an international honor established in 1920 that annually recognizes outstanding contributions to dentistry, spotlighting Ohio dentists and others who have made exemplary efforts on behalf of the profession. Callahan was noted for his research into materials and methods for filling root canals, and investigations on dental materials and patient-management concerns.

“Henry Schein has truly made remarkable strides in helping organized dentistry highlight the importance of oral health throughout patients’ lives, and by championing the notion that oral health care is a vital part of primary care,” said Dr. Thomas Paumier, ODA’s 2015 president. “In addition, the ODA has benefited from Team Schein Member participation with ODA members, the company’s support of access to care initiatives, such as Give Kids A Smile, and a host of oral health outreach missions in Ohio. We thank Henry Schein for their enduring partnership and support of organized dentistry over the years, which has helped provide a pathway for dental professionals to regularly come together to share experiences and best practices, thereby raising the bar for patient care higher and higher.”

Previous recipients of the Callahan Memorial Award include: Dr. D. Walter Cohen, chancellor emeritus, Drexel University College of Medicine, with whom Henry Schein has worked with on oral health programs in the Delaware Valley and abroad; the late Dr. Larry Meskin, former dean and professor and director of continuing education of University of Colorado, School of Dentistry, who served as chairman of the Henry Schein Oral Health Advisory Board; and the late Dr. Dominick DePaolo, a former president of The Forsyth Institute, an independent nonprofit biomedical research organization, on whose Board both Bergman and Steven W. Kess, Henry Schein’s vice president of global professional relations, serve.

(Source: PRNewswire)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *